Scotch

Enjoy!
alia

Scotch

Unread postby alia Mon Jun 09, 2014 3:55 am

Are there any scotch whiskey fans out there? I've recently been enjoying the full gamut of the Islay's, but I think my favorites are the Lagavulin 16 year, the Laphroiag Quarter Cask, and the Finlaggan. I recently got a bottle of Kilchoman and it is really good! Kilchoman is the first new distillery to open on Islay in 124 years, and only back in 2005. They released their first vintage in 2011...which is remarkably short, though with the peat the best time I think is to have the scotch around 8-12 years. Anyway, I also enjoy Deanston and then Glens for the highlanders, and who doesn't like Talisker?

Alright - if you're a fan, share what you're drinking currently and maybe we can pass some ideas around.
Frosted

Re: Scotch

Unread postby Frosted Mon Jun 09, 2014 4:09 am

Oh man. yes!

My favorite is easily Bunnahabhain 12 year. Followed by Macallan 12.

When I graduated from college I spend a few hundred on some 21 yr glenfiddich and macallan 18 year. Jesus those were good.

There are a few others I've had over the years that were really, really good that I cant remember. before I moved out of FL my buddy from scotland had a whisky tasting at his place. Great scotch, lots of different styles and brands. Laphroiag (he actually had a customized bottle with his picture on it for when he got his PhD. was pretty good) was a bit too much for me though.

how do you normally take yours? I tend to like mine neat or at RT with maybe a teaspoon of water.
alia

Unread postby alia Mon Jun 09, 2014 10:34 am

I've never heard of bunnahabhain - I'll be on the look out! And yeah, I like mine neat with varying amounts of water based on the alcohol content. 40-46 is no water, 47-50 is a teaspoon, and 50+ is as required. I got a bottle of the Ardbeg uigeadail and 2-2.5 teaspoons of water per dram does AMAZING things to the flavor. It's unbelievable unless you've tried it.