The struggles of a new frost mage

Ask questions about your mage spec, talents, build, gear, or seek advice on logs encounters here! All requests to help DPS will be relocated here.
Kittiez

The struggles of a new frost mage

Unread postby Kittiez Wed Oct 11, 2017 4:21 pm

Hi guys, I've been playing Arcane since Nighthold and switched to Frost as it's the better performing spec, so I'm still learning (was previously a healer main for many expansions).
I've been struggling on my damage, doing far less than what I should be according to sims and I'm frustrated and haven't been able to pinpoint what it is that I'm doing wrong.

Here's tonights logs, I'm Kittiez:
https://www.warcraftlogs.com/reports/jamyd12TZnRQKk4p

And here's my armory:
https://worldofwarcraft.com/en-us/chara ... on/kittiez

Also, my crit on the armory is below cap, I eat crit food to bring myself to shatter cap.
I switched to Arctic Gale on Mistress (which is what we spent most of the night working on), otherwise it was set to Unstable Magic.
I toyed around with glacial spike and thermal void throughout the night settlings on TV towards the end. in either case, talents aren't causing the problems as the problem is somewhere in my rotation. Sims say I should be around 1.35Mil DPS and I'm struggling to pull 1Mil, even on a target dummy. My burst reaches 2mil, but the longer the fight the lower my dps gets, usually settling around 1.05Mil dps.

I make sure that I FB -> BF -> IL when BF procs, and try to burn every FoF proc as they come, unless IV is coming up in which case I save minimum 2.
Thanks in advanced.
Jezrien

Re: The struggles of a new frost mage

Unread postby Jezrien Thu Oct 12, 2017 5:30 am

Glacial spike is a controversial talent atm. I wouldn't recommend to play GS especially if you have low mastery numbers