Fire and Crit

Guides and discussions of all things specific to the Pyromaniacs of Azeroth.
Mystiq

Fire and Crit

Unread postby Mystiq Wed Sep 28, 2016 2:08 am

I've been playing a mage since November 2004 and I've been Fire for a large portion of that time. Never in this game's history have I been so annoyed at loot and my eyes are pointing to how Fire treats crit against all other stats. Is anyone else as annoyed at this as I am? It plays into the fact that Fire's burst is pretty crazy but the damage levels off fast once Combustion is used up. I'm not nearly as bothered by that (though it is non-zero).
  • Got Norgannon's Foresight. Replaced a 840 crit/mastery boots. They were a 5000 DPS upgrade according to SimCraft but I'd gather they'll be out-stripped by an 865 from EN. (Getting this item made me extremely sad because not only were the stats terrible but the bonus is nigh-useless for raiding.)
  • I've had to toss so many ilvl upgrade items because they don't have crit or the ratio is off. This feels terrible when an item is 20 ilvls higher but the item is a downgrade.
  • So many items I've gotten have gone to waste because I couldn't trade them with someone else because they're an ilvl upgrade but is still an overall loss.
  • Because of my priorities, the actual pool of available loot shrinks dramatically. Crit non-existent or not the highest stat: forget it.
The result of all this is that I'm sitting at ilvl 852 but the items in my inventory would bring me to 854. If Blizzard is going to use ilvl as a gauge for player progress then ilvl should mean something. It does, I've been told, to every class/spec but Fire mage. I really think something needs to be done about Fire's treatment of stats other than crit but the decision is difficult because of how Combustion interacts with mastery and crit. They finally fixed Fire's scaling problem by pushing crit into mastery but created an itemization issue.