Frost opener 7.1

Guides and discussions of all things specific to the Ice Lancers of Azeroth.
LLHandJ

Frost opener 7.1

Unread postby LLHandJ Sun Nov 06, 2016 8:49 pm

Hey guys been stalking the forums for a long while now and finally joined up. Frost info has been somewhat nonexistent compared to fire I'm looking for the optimal Frost opener for 7.1. I have seen a few that are contradicting each other and have went through the mage discord looking with no luck. I know there's a few different ones for using RoF and not so any help would be greatly appreciated.
Brimn

Re: Frost opener 7.1

Unread postby Brimn Mon Nov 07, 2016 1:07 am

I'd be interested to see one as well. I'm fairly new to doing anything PvE as frost.
Mercedis

Unread postby Mercedis Mon Nov 07, 2016 1:22 am

If you are talented into bone chilling you want to lead off with icy veins and then right into frost orb. it also slightly different if your talented into RoP or IF.

But basically leading off with frost orb usually does the trick. its all based on your talents..

As an example, i'm talented ito: Bone chilling, Incanters Flow, Frozen Touch, and Thermal Void.

So i start icy veins, frost bomb, FT, IL,IL, ebonbolt and then more or less rinse and repeat.

I did over 300k on Xavius (normal) today with that build and rotation. my ilvl is around 852.

Hope that helps!

Feel free to hit me up in the mage halls if u see me.
Saróx

Unread postby Saróx Mon Nov 07, 2016 10:32 am

The rotation i'd recommend you, which i've been able to do the biggest numbers with, is like mentioned above with the opening of Frozen orb. Alot of people pre cast during the countdown timer, but as a frost mage i find that very suboptimal, since you wanna get right into it, and a precast flurry or frost bolt, simply just waste 3~sec on prepot and delay icy veins further.